Skip to main content
Banner Image

Creative Arts: Creative Arts Home

Search Everything at Jessup

Other DISCIPLINE Guides

Creative Arts Quick Start Guide

1. Article Literature 

Articles relating to Creative Arts can be found most easily in Academic Search PremierAcademic OneFile and OmniFile Full-Text Select. Starting your article search in either of these databases will usually yield the best results. However, if you still can't find the right article, click on the Articles Tab to find more places to search.

2. Background Information

Background information can be found using Gale Virtual Reference Library, and this is typically the best place to start your reference search. There are also several books in the Library's physical and electronic collection. Click on the Books Tab to search our catalog, and Reference Tab for more ideas. 

3. Plays, Music, and Audio/Visual

There are several resources for Creative Arts, both in print and online. Click on the Websites Tab for links to collections, metadata, organization, statistical data, and opportunities for creative and professional development. Click the Books Tab for print offerings covering such subjects as dance, theater, film, art, and design. 

Alexander Street Theatre and Music in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

Films on Demand, although not primarily known as a Fine Arts resource, can be used as an audio and visual aid when discovering musical styles, theatrical performances and visual art. Try searching "cinema", "dance", "modern art" or "musical theater" for an example.

Kanopy Streaming Video Kanopy is a streaming video platform that includes feature films from Criterion Collection and documentaries from many different producers.

Naxos Music Library is an excellent resource for listening to music. This database contains 550,000 tracks covering such genres as Broadway, ballet, classical, jazz and folk music. 

4. Still can't find what you are looking for?

Ask a librarian! You can find our contact information on the right side of this page.

Subject Guide

Kevin Pischke
Contact:
916-577-2292
Subjects:History, Music